Description: Description: Description: Description: Description: U:\My Documents\BOSMA\BosmaLogo.gif

Registered Office: Level 6, 205 Pacific Highway, St Leonards NSW
Post Office Box 1063 Artarmon NSW 1570
ABN 51 088 933 162


Chairman: David Jenkins
First Vice-Chairman: Neil Gibson
Second Vice-Chairman: John Nowlan
Web: http:\\


Secretary: David Armston
Phone: +61 419 242 886

Fax: +61 2 8424 9885


The Bureau of Steel Manufacturers of Australia has a long-standing history representing steel makers and steel foundries since its inception in 1923.  It was founded as a forum for Australian steel makers - initially BHP and the major Australian foundries, and other steel makers as they emerged - to discuss industry issues, dialogue with Government, and for representation on Australian Standards committees.

BHP CEO’s Essington Lewis and Ian McLennan both served as Chairman in the early years, underlining the seriousness with which BHP treated its relationships with Standards and Government.  BOSMA also has always been an active Council Member of Standards Australia, a position it still holds today.

In more recent years, Warren Hoskins, the BHP Foundry Manager at Port Kembla served as Chairman of BOSMA from 1992 to 2000 when the foundry closed.  Neville Power of Smorgon Steel followed him as Chairman until 2007, and then Bernie Landy of BlueScope Steel took the Chair until 2011 when Andrew Roberts of OneSteel/Arrium succeeded him.  David Jenkins of BlueScope Steel became Chairman in 2013. David Armston has been Executive Director and Secretary since 1998.

BOSMA’s principal activities continue as representation on Australian Standards and other committees and organisations, and representing the interests of its members to Government and other relevant bodies.   BOSMA has various Board committees. The BOSMA Climate Change committee under the Chairmanship of David Jenkins, and the BOSMA Standards and Compliance committee under the Chairmanship of Rob Johnson have been particularly active in recent times. In addition David Armston continues to serve on the Standards Australia Council.

Following the various changes over the years in the Australian steel making and foundry industries, the current membership comprises BlueScope Steel making steel in Port Kembla, Moly-Cop making steel in Waratah Newcastle, and the Arrium/OneSteel Group making steel in Whyalla, Sydney and Melbourne.




For BlueScope Steel enquiries please go to or contact David Jenkins via email 



For OneSteel enquiries please go to or contact Neil Gibson via email




For Moly-Cop enquiries please go to or contact John Barbagallo via email



For BOSMA enquiries please contact David Armston, BOSMA Executive Director & Secretary, phone: +61 419 242 886, email


July 1st 2017